Iggy Pop teams up with Josh Homme on ‘Post Pop Depression’

Written by Laura Curry


Punk icon Iggy Pop, known for his wild stage performances, has teamed up with Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age for a new album titled Post Pop Depression. The album is expected to be released on March 18, and it is available for preorder on iTunes.

Pop and Homme began working on the nine-song album privately last January. They spent nearly three weeks working on the album in Joshua Tree, California—all while keeping it a secret.

The band backing Pop and Homme consists of Homme’s Queens of the Stone Age bandmates Dean Fertita and Troy Van Leeuwen, Matt Sweeney of Chavez and Matt Helders of Arctic Monkeys.

The band appeared on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert on Thursday night to perform the single “Gardenia” and talk about their album in an interview with Colbert.

“Gardenia” is the first song available from the album. On the tune listeners hear Iggy Pop’s rich baritone voice singing of a woman with this name. After a few spins, you find yourself humming the chorus and wondering what Gardenia has planned for the night.

During the interview with Colbert, Iggy Pop explained that he corresponded via text with Homme about writing something and recording it.

Homme said, “It’s lovely because you have the chance to make mistakes and figure things out and find your own path. When you make a record and nobody is aware that you’re doing it, you’re kind-of making it for each other. You’re there to excite and dazzle each other.”

Tracklist of Post Pop Depression:

1. “Break into Your Heart”

2. “Gardenia”

3. “American Valhalla”

4. “In the Lobby”

5. “Sunday”

6. “Vulture”

7. “German Days”

8. “Chocolate Drops”

9. “Paraguay”