Written by Laura Curry

unnamed (1)

NYC’s punk supergroup SAVAK released a new single “Drop the Pieces,” which is sure to transport fans back to the psychedelic punk rock scene of the 60’s. The song will be featured on their upcoming album Best of Luck in Future Endeavors that will be out on May 27.

As explained by co-frontman Sohrab Habibion during an interview with Consequence of Sound, “Drop the Pieces” is written in the perspective of an archaeologist and it questions the accuracy of history. Americana and western sounds are present in the song and listeners may find themselves yearning for the past when punk rock music was in its heyday.

SAVAK, which was formed in 2015, is comprised of musicians from The Obits, Holy Fuck, Nation of Ulysses and The Cops. This includes co-frontmen Sohrab Habibion and Michael Jaworski, Greg Simpson, James Canty, Matt Schulz and Benjamin Van Dyke.

For some fun facts, you might like to know that SAVAK draws from 60’s psychedelia, 70’s British pub rock and even American hardcore of the early 80’s. Additionally, they have two drummers for maximum impact.

If you can’t wait to see SAVAK live, you can head over (Le) Poisson Rouge in New York City tomorrow (4/13) at 8 p.m. You can also see them on May 11 at the Bell House in Brooklyn or on May 27 at Shea Stadium for their album release show.

As some fuel for your excitement, check out the track list of Best of Luck in Future Endeavors:


1. Alive In Shadows
2. Drop The Pieces*
3. Reaction*
4. This Currency Exchanged
5. Elapsed Remaining
6. Early Western Traders
7. Knock Don’t Run
8. Burned By A Fever
9. Call It A Night
10. Split Decision

*Both songs are available here on Soundcloud via Comedy Minus One

Founded in September 2009, The Pop Break is a digital pop culture magazine that covers film, music, television, video games, books and comics books and professional wrestling.